You can even mark that a business has closed to save someone an extra trip. To help protect the accuracy of edits users will still be able to see the original listing information and a history of the changes made.
As usual Google have released YouTube videos to introduce this new feature
Editing Places in Google Maps
Adding Places to Google Maps